NAHA Announces 2010 Make-up and MBA finalists!

By Lauren Salapatek | 06/02/2010 8:28:38 AM


The Professional Beauty Association has announced the finalists for the 2010 North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA)—Make-up Artist of the Year and the inaugural Salon MBA NAHA.

Make-up Artist of the Year finalists: Seong Hee Park, Jon Hennessey, David Maderich, Katelyn Simkins, Sevan Tatoulian.

Salon MBA: Karie and Aaron Bennett from Atelier Aveda Lifestyle SalonSpa; Tina Morschhauser and Gretchen Brown from Rejuvenation Spa, Shawn Trujillo and Angie Katsanevas from Lunatic Fringe; Charles Penzone from The Charles Penzone Salons’ and Kendall Ong and Beate Assmuth-Ong from Mane Attraction Salon.

"The NAHA for Make-up Artist of the Year has grown significantly more prestigious in the past few years and I feel the Salon MBA NAHA will become just as prominent in recognizing those very astute and successful salon and spa owners who have cultivated a cutting-edge and a highly profitable business," states Bonnie Bonadeo, PBA's Director of Program Development and Education.

Both awards will be presented as part of the NAHA Awards Ceremony on Sunday, July 18, 2010 at the Mandalay Bay Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada. Open to the entire beauty industry, the NAHA Award Ceremony is a not-to-be-missed evening of high energy, artistic expression, and the coming together of the professional beauty industry to salute rising stars and industry icons. (Due to the manner in which the NAHA's are judged, the Salon MBA and Make-up Artist of the Year categories are done after all other categories have been judged and announced.)

The PBA Awards Ceremony is also set to feature artistic presentations by Vivienne Mackinder and Faatemah Ampey along with performances by the world famous Culture Shock Dance Crew.  DJ Roonie G will once again return with his amazing musical mash-ups that will set the tone for the evening and many of the performances. Concluding the NAHA event, the NAHA After Party will be held at Mandalay Bay's Eye Candy Lounge. The NAHA After Party is open to all ticketed NAHA attendees and is free of charge.


  Seong Hee Park (Make-up); Ammon Carver (stylist) nominated for Editorial; Photography by Hyuana Shin.    
 Jon Hennessey
 Seong Hee Park David Maderich
  Katelyn Simkins (Make-up); Charlie Price (Stylist), nominated for Master Hairstylist of the Year; Photography by Babak.   For more photos of the NAHA
Make-up Artist of the Year's
finalists visit:

 Katelyn Simkins
 Sevan Tatoulia 


Karie and Aaron Bennett from Atelier
Aveda Lifestyle SalonSpa
Tina Morschhauser and Gretchen Brown
from Rejuvenation Spa
 Shawn Trujillo and Angie Katsanevas from Lunatic FringeCharles Penzone from The Charles Penzone Salons’ 
  Kendall Ong and Beate Assmuth-Ong from Mane
Attraction Salon (left)

For more photos on the NAHA MBA finalists visit:





ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Lauren Salapatek

Lauren Salapatek Lauren Salapatek, Web Editor for Modern Salon | Salon Today | First Chair.

(Previous positions: Associate Editor/E-Newsletter Content Production Manager)

Since January 2010, Lauren has worked for Modern Salon Media covering salon style, product and beauty trends, and business editorial for both print and online content. As of October 2013, Lauren’s role changed to Web Editor—now she manages all online editorial content for, and As part of her responsibilities, she creates, edits, organizes and curates content for all Modern Salon Media’s websites; manages the creation and production of all Salon e-newsletters; promotes Modern Salon Media’s digital content via several social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest); and maintains an editorial calendar to keep all Modern Salon Media’s websites timely and current.

You can find Lauren on Google+ or e-mail her at


Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight