The 19th Annual North American Hairstyling Awards

By Jan Hillenmeyer | 08/12/2008 1:38:17 PM


Starry Night: NAHA 19

THE EVENT: The 19th annual North American Hairstyling Awards. THE VENUE: The Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas. 

THE DETAILS: The Professional Beauty Association presented the NAHA awards on July 13 in conjunction with Cosmoprof North America. The festivities opened with a red carpet reception prior to the awards presentation. The event was emceed by former Saturday Night Live comedienne Victoria Jackson who arrived in bag-lady mode and received a glamorous up do from 2007’s Hairstylist of the Year Alan Ruiz. NAHA 19 celebrated women in the industry and featured motivational segments and video messages presented by stylist, teacher and trend-setter Vivienne Mackinder, a presentation by 2006 Master Stylist Veronica Bessey and stunning runway segments. Jack Storey, president and co-founder of Scruples, was inducted into the NAHA Hall of Leaders. A retrospective of his industry career as a licensed cosmetologist, salon owner and manufacturing executive was presented by Scruples Director of Marketing Tracy Liguori. Redken’s Ann Mincey introduced her friend and colleague Martin Parsons, who received the NAHA Lifetime Achievement Award for his more than 30 years as a stylist, educator and mentor. 

THE BUZZ: This year’s winners revealed some of the most stunning and creative work in NAHA history. The top honor went to Charlie Price of Click Salon in Denver, who left the event named 2008 North American Hairstylist of the Year.

THE LAST WORD: If you are inspired by the NAHA winners, it isn’t too early to think about entering NAHA 20. To learn more visit 


Photography by Eric Hoffman


Charlie Price of Click Salon in Denver received the highest honor, 2008 North American Hairstylist of the Year, from the 2007 winner Allen Ruiz and NAHA emcee Victoria Jackson.


The fashion tone for NAHA 19 was set with the opening runway show.


Scruples president and co-founder Jack Storey was presented with his induction into the Hall of Leaders by Scruples’ Director of Marketing Tracy Liguori.


Styling icon and mentor to many, Martin Parsons received the NAHA Lifetime Achievement award.


Nicholas French of the Matrix Global Academy in New York received the Avant Garde award from Sexy Hair Founder Michael O’Rourke.


L’Oréal Professionnel’s Andrew Bartfield presented Student Stylist honors to Chelsea Vittorio of Aveda’s Fredric’s Institute in Indianapolis.


Mia Liguori McHugh presented Capello Salon of Milwaukie, Oregon with the Salon Team of the Year award.





No matching related articles at this time.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Jan Hillenmeyer

Jan Hillenmeyer is the News Editor of Modern Salon magazine.


Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight