Cosmetologists Chicago, producers of America’s Beauty Show, is a venerable organization of salon professionals that is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. The association has a long and storied history of participating in competitive hair styling, and the tradition continues with the annual Stars Photo Competitions and, this year, the inaugural Leo Passage Gold Trophy Award.

The Stars Photo Competitions streamline the involved and costly world of competitions with before and after photo submissions sent to Cosmetologists Chicago and representing talented professionals in the categories of Red Carpet Glamour, Urban Edge /Street Fashion and Salon Makeover. A panel of celebrity guest judges including Luis Alvarez of Aquage and Jan Arnold of CND selected the winning entries this year. The winners of the 2012 Stars, Nail Stars, Rising Stars and Leo Passage Gold Trophy awards were presented at Cosmetologists Chicago’s Beauty Bash, a gala evening held March 3 during America’s Beauty Show at McCormick Place in downtown Chicago.

The Stars winners in each category received $750 from Cosmetologists Chicago, a trophy, and free admission to a 2012 Aquage Academy in Chicago.

Kaia Hurd of Fresh Salon in Charlotte, North Carolina won the Stars Red Carpet Glamour award.

The Salon Visage Team from Salon Visage in Knoxville, Tennessee won the Stars Urban Edge/Street Fashion award.

CeCe Augustine of Ladies and Gentlemen in Mentor, Ohio won the Stars Salon Makeover award.

The Nail Stars winner, Viktoria Evtushenko of  Iryna Giblett Nail Academy  in Kiev, Ukraine won the Nail Stars trophy and $500 from the International Nail Technicians Association.

The Rising Stars Award honors student entries. The 2012 winner is Samantha Gribble of Steven Papageorge Hair Academy in Chicago. She received a trophy, a gift bag of beauty products and free admission to ABS 2013.

All winners received recognition at ABS and on

Cosmetologists Chicago honored the late Leo Passage, founder of Pivot Point International, with the creation of the Leo Passage Gold Trophy presented for the first time this year. The Gold Trophy is awarded to the cumulative point-winner of the Stars Photo Competition. Jennifer Price of Zanos Salons & Day Spas in Naperville, Illinois is the first to have her name engraved on the Leo Passage Gold Trophy, which will be displayed at Pivot Point Academy in Evanston, Illinois. She received a replica of the trophy and a cash award of $1,000. She was assisted in creating her entry by make-up artist Ashley Stephens and photographer Kosta Sobevski.

It’s never too early to being thinking about entering next year’s Stars Photo Competition. The 2013 ABS will be held March 9-11 at Chicago’s McCormick Place. Visit

See all the winners here.