NAHA 20 Finalists Take The Spotlight

Web Editor | July 10, 2011 | 7:09 PM
Read about NAHA's 20 year history!

Check out the incredible work of the finalists in the 20th North American Hairstyling Awards. From student to seasoned expert, NAHA beckons to any stylist who wants to take his or her creativity and talent to the highest level. The suspense will be over when the 2009 winners are announced on July 19 at the Mandalay Bay Resort in Las Vegas. The theme of the awards ceremony this year will be “Honoring the Work, Stories, Style!” – a celebration of the two decades of beauty and fashion created by the incredible people who have been, and will be, honored with North American Hairstyling Awards.

Avant-Garde, Contemporary Classic

Finalists: Darian Bishop, Lina Shamoun, Shelly Devlin, Nicholas French, Daniel Holzberger, Edwin Fontanez, Dimitrios Tsioumas, Maureen Anlauf, Ammon Carver, Laurie Haney.

Editorial Stylist, Fashion Forward, Haircolor

Finalists: Cameron Letterman, Steve Elias, Michael Albor, Maryl Velbeck, Daniel Holzberger, Nicole Obert, Faatemah Ampey, Lucie Doughty, Maureen Anlauf, Kathleen Gaide-Mahan and Michael Albor, Sue Pemberton, Chrystofer Benson, Adriana Balea, John Simpson, Silas Tsang.

Hairstylist, Master Stylist, Salon Design

Finalists: Michael Baker, Christopher Deagle, Maureen Anlauf, Richard St. Laurent, Silas Tsang, Eric Fisher, Charlie Price, Brian and Sandra Smith, Nicholas French, Alain Pereque, Riccardo Santoro, Hasblady Guzman, Wendy Farjami, Larry Fila, Van Council.

Student Hairstylist, Salon Team, Texture, Makeup

Finalists: Amanda Di Carlo, Whitney Vallee, Kelli Parks, Tatum Henson, Corey Lofton, Anna Pacitto-Merlo, Gianpolo Colombo, Oliver Motto, Richard St. Laurent, Silas Tsang, Shawna Parvin, Steve Elias, Dimitrios Tsioumas, Faatemah Ampey, Adriana Catenaccio, John Simpson, Francesco Ramirez, Janell Geason, Aeriel Payne, Sasha Ahart.

Calling All Winners!
Are you a past NAHA winner? The PBA is looking for you! This year, PBA is providing past NAHA recipients with free admission. Festivities on July 19 kick off at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas at 6:30 p.m. with a red-carpet reception, followed by the star-studded ceremony. If you’re a past honoree, contact Bonnie Bonadeo, Director of Program Development and Education at [email protected] or call 480-281-0424 ext. 3424.

“Past winners in the Master Hairstylist category will be the Master of Ceremonies this year,” says Bonnie Bonadeo, Director of Program Development and Education for the PBA. “Instead of a celebrity hosting, these past winners and their 20 years of success are the celebrities.

In addition to the awards themselves, anyone who purchases a ticket to NAHA will also be able to attend a special class taught by Philip Pelusi called Lights, Camera, Branding, that will teach the best way to create and brand images to enter in NAHA.

Interested in attending this year’s ceremony? The event takes place on Sunday, July 19, 2009. Visit to purchase tickets today.

Facebook Comments

More from NAHA


2017 NAHA FINALISTS: Texture

Lauren Salapatek | May 10, 2017

This category demonstrates texture skills with designs that complement the individuality of diverse hair textures. Hair texture may be natural or chemically treated, but entries must display wearable, cutting-edge textured hair styles.


2017 NAHA FINALISTS: Student

Lauren Salapatek | May 10, 2017

Collections in NAHA's Student category display creativity, versatility and expertise in hair styling. Students must be enrolled in school or performing required hours in a salon and NOT be a licensed cosmetologist as of the entry deadline.

Load More