Manufacturers & Distributors

North American Hairstylist Awards (NAHA 18) Winners Announced

Web Editor | July 10, 2011 | 7:14 PM

This past weekend in Las Vegas, the Professional Beauty Association announced the winners of North American Hairstylist Awards (NAHA 18). The North American Hairstylist Awards are some of the most prestigious honors for hairstylists, and they honor work in a variety of categories, including Avant Garde, Contemporary Classic, Texture and Hair Color. 

Hosted by Steven Cojocaru, the event was held at the Mandalay Bay and featured artistic presentations by Van Michael Salon and Salon Gregorie’s and tributes to Jim Markham, Hall of Leaders inductee, and Yosh Toya, Lifetime Achievement winner. Judging was done by a group of top beauty editors and renowned hair stylists, narrowing down the more than 600 entries to five finalists per category and one winner. For pictures from all of the winners, click here to go to Modern Portfolios

North American Hairstylist Awards (NAHA 18) Winners Announced


For 2007, the winners are:

Master Stylist of the Year  

Dusty Simington

Salon Gregorie’s, Newport Beach, CA

Hairstylist of the Year

Allen Ruiz

Jackson Ruiz Salon, Austin, TX

Salon Team of the Year


Montreal, Quebec

Editorial Stylist of the Year

Michael Albor

The Loft Salon and Day Spa, Boston, MA

 Student Hairstylist of the Year

Jess Zehnder

Aveda Fredric's Institute, Indianapolis, IN

 Make-Up Artist of the Year

Maria Nguyen

Milpitas, CA            

Avant Garde

Anthony Cress / Kimmi Le

Salon Gregorie’s, Newport Beach, CA

Contemporary Classic

Bennie Pollard

Hair by Bennie and Friends, Louisville, KY

Fashion Forward

Veronica Bessey

Toni & Guy, Carrollton, TX


Sue Pemberton

Henderson, NV

Salon Design

6 Salon

George Nikollaj, Royal Oak, MI


Steve Elias

Atelier Aveda, San Jose, CA

Want to be one of the chosen at North American Hairstylist Awards next year? Download an application at Entries are due February 1, 2008.


Facebook Comments

More from Manufacturers & Distributors

Manufacturers & Distributors GKhair CEO & Founder Van Tibolli
Manufacturers & Distributors

GKhair Founder & CEO Van Tibolli Talks 10 Years of GKhair

Lauren Quick | May 1, 2017

GKhair Founder and CEO Van Tibolli celebrated 10 years since the brand’s founding with a Caribbean cruise to Turks and Caicos with a group of 148 top distributors and an international team of educators. Tibolli sat down with MODERN while on the high seas to talk about the innovations from GKhair in the past 10 years and what we can expect from the brand in the future.

Load More