Industry News

Day Spa Association Gives Out Annual Awards

September 28, 2012 | 6:42 AM

At the recent Day Spa Expo & Business Forum, the Day Spa Association handed out their yearly awards for Spa Person of the Year and Distinguished Day Spa of the Year.

L-R: Hannelore Leavy and Katie Armitage

This year’s Spa Person of the Year was Katie Armitage (right, with Hannelore Leavy, executive director of the Day Spa Association), president of Associated Skin Care Professionals and executive director of Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals, both based in Evergreen, Colorado. Each year, the Day Spa Association selects six Spa Person of the Month recipients, based on certain criteria. That includes making a significant contribution to the professional day spa industry, while remaining influential contributors in their own communities. Winners for Spa Person of the Year are selected from a pool of current and previous years’ Spa Person of the Month awards.


Miriam L. Lytle

The Distinguished Day Spa Award, this year, went to Miriam L. Lytle of the Mountain Wolf Day Spa in Grass Valley, California (left). The Day Spa Association-accredited Wolf Mountain Day Spa has been awarded locally as a “Best of” day spa for four consecutive years. Their philanthropic efforts include working to increase support for breast cancer awareness with mammogram funding for low-income recipients, while opening their facility to those in need. To find out more about the spa, visit


You can nominate someone you know for the Spa Person of the Month by visiting



More from Industry News

Industry News Mannequin head from Kris Sorbie NYC
Industry News

Shaking Up The Mannequin Game

Maggie Mulhern | March 15, 2019

"I feel hairdressers don’t always appreciate esthetic when working with mannequin heads," says the iconic Kris Sorbie, famed colorist, stylist and artist. As the Global Artistic Director for Redken, Sorbie has handled many a "head" and decided a couple years ago that it was time to up the mannequin head game.

Industry News Sheila Zaricor-Wilson, president-elect of Intercoiffure America/Canada.
Industry News

Women in Leadership: Sheila Zaricor-Wilson

Michele Musgrove | February 27, 2019

As Intercoiffure prepares for its Spring Atelier, its president elect prepares to take charge. With our Women in Leadership series, we connect with Sheila Zaricor-Wilson, who shares her history, her thoughts and her goals for her tenure.

Industry News Karen Gordon, president of Cosmetologists Chicago, the organization that owns and operates America's Beauty Show.
Industry News

Women in Leadership: Karen Gordon

Michele Musgrove | February 27, 2019

As Cosmetologists Chicago prepares for America's Beauty Show in late March, our Women in Leadership series talks with the newest president of the association, Karen Gordon. In a candid interview, she shares her history, her thoughts and her goals for her tenure ahead.

Load More