Expert Advice

Modern Reports: NAHA 2015

Lauren Quick | August 24, 2015 | 9:42 AM
Robert Grimes, Hairstylist of the Year, accepts his award.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 1 of 6
Aveda’s edgy presentation at NAHA 2015.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 2 of 6
Avant Garde winner Erika Fung accepts her award.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 3 of 6
Redken Celebrity Colorist Tracey Cunningham presented celeb-inspired haircolor and styles.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 4 of 6
MODERN Editors Alison Alhamed and Maggie Mulhern present the Editorial award while live-broadcasting on Periscope.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 5 of 6
Matrix’s presentation featured hair alongside a spoken-word performance about the power of hairdressers.
Photo By Bill Knapp Photo 6 of 6

NAHA Live!

The Event: The 2015 North American Hairstyling Awards ceremony, hosted by fashion stylist Brad Goreski, was held on July 12, 2015, at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Hotel in Las Vegas.


The Details: The event opened with a red-carpet reception from 6:30-8 p.m. followed by the awards ceremony from 8-10:30 p.m.


Stylists, distributors and industry devotees showed up to the black-tie event, dubbed the Oscars of the hairdressing world, to watch dynamic runway presentations, enjoy one another’s company and, of course, meet the 2015 NAHA award-winners.


Presentations: MODERN Editors Alison Alhamed and Maggie Mulhern presented the award for Editorial while live-broadcasting to all of MODERN’s Periscope followers. Viewers were able to get a from-the- stage perspective of the award presentation and even see winner Lisa Yamasaki accept her award.


Matrix’s high-energy presentation featured models and a spoken-word performance on the power of the hairstylist. Aveda’s edgy runway models wore outfits made of recycled black plastic straws, and Redken Celebrity Colorist Tracey Cunningham created celeb-inspired haircolor on a range of models.


The Winners

Hairstylist of the Year: Robert Grimes

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year: Paul Pereira

Student Hairstylist of the Year: Dustin Villa

Master Hairstylist of the Year: Vivienne Mackinder

Texture: Lauren Moser

Salon Team: Local B

Makeup Artist of the Year: Katelyn Simkins

Avant Garde: Erika Fung

Nail Professional of the Year: Reiko Omae

Contemporary Classic: Robert Grimes

Editorial: Lisa Yamasaki

Haircolor: Marlo Steenman

Newcomer Stylist of the Year: Lizz Kopta

Salon Design: Hairroin Salon NYC

People’s Choice: Dallan Flint



More from Expert Advice

Spencer Stevenson, aka Spex, is a world-renowned hair loss expert who offers unbiased advice based on his own research and experience.
Expert Advice Sponsored by Hair Restoration Laboratories

6 Truths for Stylists From a Hair Loss Expert

April 23, 2019

Spencer Stevenson has been battling hair loss for years. He’s had five hair transplants and figures he has spent close to $45,000 on hair loss solutions. He has become one of the world’s foremost hair loss authorities, pledging to provide honest, ethical and unbiased advice for hair loss sufferers. For the first time, he shares his insights into hair loss with salon professionals.

Load More