BREAKING: The 2023 North American Hairstyling Awards Finalists Revealed
BREAKING: The 2023 North American Hairstyling Awards Finalists Revealed

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is thrilled to announce the 34th annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) finalists. NAHA is the most prestigious professional beauty competition in North America and honors the salon industry’s top artists who push the boundaries of skill and creativity. NAHA 2023 is no exception, with extraordinary collections ranging from edgy Avant Garde to fashion-forward Editorial to nuanced Texture.

"The 2023 North American Hairstyling Award finalists exemplify the pinnacle of excellence in the industry," shares Nina Daily, PBA’s Executive Director. “Year after year, we continue to be amazed by the elevation of submissions demonstrated by these talented artists.”

To win a coveted NAHA award, artists submit their collections in fourteen creative and inspirational categories of hair, makeup, and education excellence. Development of these collections often takes months of envisioning, planning, and shooting.

Collections are judged anonymously in three rounds by a panel of esteemed experts in hairdressing and makeup artistry, and are scored based on technical skill, cohesiveness, and creativity.

The NAHA 2023 Finalists are:

Avant Garde:

Adrian Gutierrez
Anakin Chan
Ashley Jackson
Cassie Carey
David Barron

Barber of the Year:

Nieves Almaraz
Charles Robinson
Jamie DiGrazia
Cecilia Jimenez
Victor Hugo

Editorial Stylist of the Year:

Adrian Gutierrez
Jamie Wiley
Lisa Von Kurvink
Joan Novak
Timothy Cabell

Educator of the Year:

Nina Tulio
Elizabeth Faye
Rodrick Samuels
Angelica Prather
Keya Neal


Lindsey Olson
Nicole Pede
Lori Zabel
Greta Coston
Luis Gonzalez


George Garcia
Chrystofer Benson
Yuki Yasui
Brayden Pelletier
Nieves Almaraz

Hairstylist of the Year:

Julie Vriesinga
Frank Cini
Danielle Keasling
Keith Bryce
Brayden Pelletier

Inspiring Salon of the Year:

Prolific Styles of Art Beauty and Barber Salon
Hair is Happiness
Logan Parlor
Crawford Master Stylists Ltd.
Panache An Aveda Salon and Spa

Makeup Artist of the Year:

Breanne Gershon
Nohemi Capetillo
Isidro Valencia
Sam Watson
Mel Martinez

Master Hairstylist of the Year:

Allen Ruiz
Chris Baran
Ruth Roche
Anna Pacitto
Teresa Romero

Student Hairstylist of the Year:

Nicole Sherman
Cooper Brooks
Didem Gokturk
Destiny Johnson
Savanna Hoffman

Styling and Finishing:

Carlos Alvarez
Danielle Waterman
Jaimee Harris Smith
Kenneth Dawson
Caidy Brasure

Team of The Year:

Derrick Rutherford & Julio Rodriguez
Team Vortex: Jamie McDaniel, Joe Chesbro, Anne Chesbro, Laura Frazier, Manda Ziegelman and Suzanne Sturm.
JCPenney Salon Design Team: Jaimee Harris Smith, Brendnetta Ashley and Brittany Brown
Nurtur Aveda Institutes: Laura Vaughn, Taylor Fultz, Niki Stover, Erin Gates, Joseph Garcia, Marie Pannell-Biggs and Stephanie Huntsman
Hair Biz and Beyond: Laura Gunter, Anthony Negron, Galyna Poczciwinski, Stacy Anne and Danielle Keasling


Shannon King
Alexander Turnbull
Keith Bryce
Lukas Press
Caidy Brasure

The competition culminates in an industry-wide celebration of artistry at the NAHA ceremony, held in conjunction with Premiere Anaheim, on Sunday, April 2, 2023, in Anaheim, CA. The 2023 NAHA ceremony will feature artistic presentations by Ulta, Ashtae, CBC Collective, and Cassie Carey, the 2022 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year. Tickets for the 2023 ceremony are available at

About The Professional Beauty Association

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is the largest and most inclusive trade organization representing the entire beauty industry. PBA exists to elevate, unite, and serve the beauty industry and the professionals who improve people’s lives and is the only national organization to represent the entire beauty industry. Our members include manufacturers, distributors, salons, spas, schools, independent practitioners, students, and industry suppliers. PBA is dedicated to advocating and fighting for the rights of the beauty industry, enhancing professionalism, and committed to the longterm success of the stylist and the businesses that employ and support them. For more information on membership, please visit:

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, Click here.