• The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is thrilled to announce the finalists in the 32nd annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA). 
  • Click through below to go to each category and to see the work of each finalist. 
  • The North American Hairstyling Awards is the most prestigious professional beauty competition in North America and honors the salon industry’s top artists who push the boundaries of skill and creativity.

For over 30 years, thousands of talented artists have used NAHA as a platform to showcase their work to win a coveted NAHA Award. “This was an unprecedented year for NAHA due to the global Covid-19 pandemic, yet the heightened creativity and vast number of submissions were some of the most impressive in the competition’s history,” shares Nina Daily, PBA’s Chief Marketing Officer. “The industry rallied to channel energy into true artistry, innovation, and camaraderie, and we couldn’t be more proud of this year’s finalists.” 

To enter NAHA, each artist submitted their work to an electronic portal -- which was evaluated by a panel of 150 of the industry’s most esteemed hairdressers, makeup artists, beauty educators, and experts, including Serge Normant, Danilo, Vernon Francois, Robert Ham, Antoinette Beenders, Shogo Ideguchi, Eugenia Weston, Sam Brocato, Tracey Hughes, Nicholas French, Robert Lobetta, Tippi Shorter, and more. Each NAHA submission is judged online, in multiple rounds, by the panel of judges. The judging process has no contact between judges or knowledge of artist names to ensure anonymity and fairness; enabling a true celebration of excellence, creativity, and technical ability.

This year, NAHA introduced two new categories, Inspiring Salon of The Year and Educator of the Year, and enabled previously published work to be entered for consideration. To virtually guide and inspire potential entrants on creating and submitting a winning collection, the PBA hosted a series of live digital, interactive “Creative Conversations.” With such names as Michael Shaun Corby, Sam Villa, and Michelle O’Connor sharing their insights and tips, this year’s nominees had access like never before to help shape truly award-winning collections.

This year's finalist announcement, which was broadcast live on Facebook, was sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional. Candidates span fourteen categories of excellence across hair, makeup, and education artistry. Finalists include:

Avant Garde:

Liza Espinoza Archurra

Francesca Rivetti

Sharie Valcin

Damien Carney

Nick Stenson


Editorial Stylist of the Year:

Michael Albor

Chrystofer Benson

Silas Tsang

Damien Carney

Danielle Keasling



Suzanne Sturm

Chrystofer Benson

Steven Roberston

Ashley Stewart

Rodrigo Araneda



Stephen Moody

Chris Baran

Evalyn Johnson

Matthew Morris

Rodrigo Araneda


Hairstylist of the Year:

Chrystofer Benson

Silas Tsang

Heggy Gonzalez

Julie Vriesinga

Daniel Holzberger


Inspiring Salon of the Year:

Square Colour Salon + Spa

Steller Hair Company

WT Hair

SuiteSpot Salonspa

Martino Cartier Salon


Makeup Artist of the Year:

Melissa Musseau

Isidro Valencia

Callie Cabral

Nohemi Capetillo

Sam Watson


Men’s Hairstylist of the Year:

Nieves Almaraz

Paul Pereira

Carlos Estrella

Dana Caschetta

Milciades Rolon


Student Hairstylist of the Year:

Madison Pollick, COLLECTIV Academy

Joey Posner, Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute Minneapolis

Alisha Kemp, Aveda Institute Los Angeles

Aubrey Petty, Haus of Flint

Amber Hensley, Aveda Institute Tucson


Styling and Finishing:

Keith Bryce

Alexander Turnbull

Jamal Edmonds

Nick Stenson

Cassie Carey


Team of The Year:

Backlot Studio 3

Jose Luis Salon - Manor

Jose Luis Salon - Austin

Salon Entrenous

Van Michael Salons



Lisa Von Kurvink

Sharie Valcin

Norm Wright

Jamal Edmonds

Ammon Carver


Educator of the Year:

Tabatha Coffey

Stephen Moody

Chris Baran

Vivienne Mackinder

Sam Villa


Master Hairstylist of the Year:

Vivienne Mackinder

Silas Tsang

Julie Vriesinga

Matthew Morris

Ruth Roche

NAHA 2021 is slated to take place on August 29th at Cosmoprof North America Show (CPNA) in Las Vegas at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Convention Center.

Tickets will go on sale this spring at probeauty.org/naha, with special packages exclusively available to Professional Beauty Association members. For more information and on-sale date updates, please visit probeauty.org/naha; get inspired and learn more about the most prestigious night in beauty.

About The Professional Beauty Association

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is the largest and most inclusive trade organization representing the entire beauty industry. PBA exists to elevate, unite and serve the beauty industry and the professionals who improve people’s lives and is the only national organization to represent the entire beauty industry. Our members include manufacturers, distributors, salons, spas, schools, independent practitioners, students and industry suppliers. PBA is dedicated to advocating and fighting for the rights of the beauty industry, enhancing professionalism, and committed to the long-term success of the stylist and the businesses that employ and support them. For more information on membership levels and dues please visit: www.probeauty.org/join.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, Click here.